Home » celebration » Celebrating Nandini

Celebrating Nandini

Today’s post is dedicated to my baby girl, Nandi!

On Monday, August 8th, we watched with pride and joy as our youngest walked across the graduation stage at Florida International University. She earned the prestigious title of: Doctor of Physical Therapy.

I bet you can imagine how my heart is bursting with happiness! I am so grateful for Nandi’s accomplishment.

Here is an excerpt from her Facebook post:

I’ve been a part of the FIU family for 9 years. NINE! Two years of preschool at FIU’s Children Learning Center. Two years of dual enrollment at FIU’s Academy for Advanced Academics. Two years of my remaining undergrad years before obtaining my Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology. And finally… 3 years of grad school for my Doctor of Physical Therapy degree. 9 years- DONE. I couldn’t have done it without the support from all of my loved ones, friends, and classmates. WE did it. I’ve been in school since I was 5. Now at age 23, I can finally, finallllly, FINALLY say that I am done. Yeyyyyyyyy!! I’m excited for the journey that lies ahead.

 

16 thoughts on “Celebrating Nandini

    • Thank you! Yes, wonderful moments. As a father of young children, here’s a funny story for you…when she was in Pre-school, I went to pick her up, collected her blanket and her drawings (Friday afternoon) and proceeded to drive home. It was only when I started the car, and my two other children asked, “where is Nandi”, did I realize that I didn’t get her!!! Of course, the director of the center had a big smile on her face as I rushed back in because she knew I left without Nandi and would have realized my error pretty quickly. What can I say? Tired mommy!

  1. That is quite an accomplishment – it’s certainly a long time when you are 23 and entered school at the age of 5! I can imagine Nandi is ecstatic to be graduated. As has already been mentioned – now the learning really begins – but Nandi won’t want to know about that right now 🙂 The entire family must be sharing the pride – it takes a village they say, so congratulations to everyone!

    • Thank you, Pauline. Yes, it takes a village to raise a child and I give thanks to all those who helped to nurture her mind. I agree that the learning really begins now. She’s going to have many, many experiences that will put her to the test. Have a lovely day, my friend.

  2. Congratulations Nandini! I am beaming with pride over your recent accomplishment. Although you have declared an end to your classroom learning, I predict that at the ripe old age of 23, you have just begun. You are now ready for the classroom of LIFE. Go forth and excel…like you always have. Blessings.

    • KB, as I’ve told you earlier, I’m in gratitude to you for all you’ve done to nurture and groom Nandi into the person she is today. Sometimes, you don’t get to see the fruits of your labor, but with Nandi, you’ve gotten a chance to see her growth every step of the way.
      Yes, at the ripe “old age of 23”, the classroom of life is beckoning. You and I know that in the classroom of life, the tests come first and the lessons follow…
      Have a fabulous weekend!

  3. Congratulations Nandi! I’ve had physical therapy several times and I’ve worked with and talked with several students. I know it’s a very hard degree program to complete. I also know that the people you will be caring for will appreciate your hard work and dedication.

Leave a Reply

