Home » attitude of gratitude » My Gratitude Jar

My Gratitude Jar

flowers -joyHabits, whether good or bad, start off as thin as a single strand of hair – easy to snap. However, if we continue with the behavior, that same strand-like habit will grow to be strong and sturdy like chain links – difficult to break. Having an attitude of gratitude is a habit. This is a habit that I am constantly working toward; it is not easy. It takes work. It requires reflecting, sifting through life experiences, and being aware that there is value in all my interactions.  It is not easy to be in gratitude when negativity steps in, when there is illness, death, or when bad news comes our way. However, I know if I search within, there is always something for which I can be grateful.

Over the years, I’ve attempted to keep a gratitude journal, but after a short period, the journaling of my thoughts became a dormant idea. Some time ago, I heard about the gratitude jar and I promised myself that I would start one. I don’t need a journal or a jar to express my gratefulness, but this tangible means of reflecting helps me to recognize my blessings and joys.

The birth of my Gratitude Jar was on January 12, 2016.  See photos at the end of this post.

My first note of gratitude:

This evening I spent some time with Rosh as she worked on her “bottle this feeling” jars. Her “About” page on her website talks about how being grateful contributes to your happiness – what a beautiful reminder for me as I bottle 101 thoughts in my head. I am grateful to my daughter for reminding me to live with an attitude of gratitude.

Here is another note from January 16th

I’m in gratitude for…

  • Kind, caring, listening ears
  • The gift of time
  • The gift of friendship
  • Knowing when to speak softly and quietly
  • Lessons in time management
  • Being honored with trust
  • Prayers and positive energy

I have decided to grow the habit of being in gratitude today and every day. I find that being grateful brings me joy. Although I do not write gratitude notes with pen and paper daily, I write them with my reflections and actions.

 Today, among other things, I am grateful for your friendship, my health, and the peace, joy, and positive energy that surround me.

 Thank you for visiting my blog!

 With gratitude,

 Elaine

 

28 thoughts on “My Gratitude Jar

  1. Hello Elaine! We met at the Holi – I’m neighbor’s with Raj. I tried to reach you through your blog before but I don’t think it went though. In any case I’m starting my own soon and would love to have advice. I even started it but lost everything because I hit the wrong button!!! – Bennett

  2. I did a “Happiness Jar” for 2015 which was a lot of fun. I haven’t done one for 2016 BUT your entry is a reminder for me to read through 2015 and start 2016 &#X1f60a

  3. What a lovely post and the message is even greater. Gratitude for me is the thankfulness for being blessed in every way. It is a very satisfying feeling and makes us realize how lucky and blessed we are. Welcome back Elaine and Happy Easter to you and your family. 😀

  4. Reblogged this on OUR LIFE IN 3D and commented:
    I ran across this post today from a very dear and trusted blogger on Gratitude. I know gratitude is one of my love languages so it spoke to me. And I thought what a very appropriate thought for Easter weekend as He gave His life so that we may live. Thank You Jesus! Happy Easter everyone!

  5. I believe in being grateful, for how else am I going to realize what I have on my side. My desk where I have my PC sits next to a window, a bedroom-sized one, but one nonetheless. Several times during each day during the time I sit here, I look out into the front yard. No matter what is out there, dreary or bright, I’m reminded that I have enough and realistically I don’t need any more. Yet to have a journal of this is something I know I couldn’t keep up even for a week. I’m not sure of the reason though. I don’t think a jar would be any different for me. I am, however, quite happy that this is working for you, Elaine. 😀

    • Glynis, your contentment is a powerful reminder to all. “I’m reminded that I have enough and realistically I don’t need any more”. Thank you! When I put the Gratitude Jar idea into action, I didn’t set up any “rules” for myself that I must write daily notes or three times per week or anything of the sort, so I think this flexibility is helping it to work for me. Have a great weekend!

  6. On the money! Great habit!
    A life of gratitude is actually quite empowering in many ways apparently.
    “The outer conditions of a person’s life will always be found to be harmoniously related to his inner state…Men do not attract that which they want, but that which they are.”
    James Allen, As a Man Thinketh

  7. Elaine, let me share one of my new favorite bible verses with you… Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. This is not easy to do, I’m working on it one day at a time. What joy to know you too can live in his will!
    PS. That was I Thessalonians 5:18.

  8. What a great idea. I do believe I will follow suit. I hadn’t thought of the gift of trust as a blessing as I took it for granted but it is indeed a blessing and even a honor. ❤

    • Jill, I got homemade cookies in that jar. It already had the pretty red ribbon on it. That jar was meant to hold my gratitude notes. On January 12th, I knew exactly where it was and so I was able to pen my thoughts immediately after the inspiration came to me:)

Leave a Reply

