Home » attitude » A life Lesson from Sand Mandalas

A life Lesson from Sand Mandalas

Dear Readers,

I’ve been away from my blog and your blogs for several months now. A few life events kept me away and even zapped my motivation and discipline to post here and visit with you. Today, I feel ready to recommit my energy to blogging. It will take some time for me to catch up with your posts, but my intention is to visit your blogs as soon as possible.

This evening, I’m reflecting on an experience I had in 2010 which I posted here.

In 2010, I had the wonderful opportunity of witnessing the monks at the Buddhist temple in Miami create extraordinary, intricate, and immensely beautiful sand mandalas. As I observed their patience, skill, and mindfulness of their art, I felt a sense of peace within me. It was hard for me to understand how their dedication, love, and skill to the beautiful art they created will disintegrate after a few days; it will all be swept away and they knew it.

Now, years later, looking back at those moments, I can truly see how anything we create or build, no matter the work, skill, beauty, love, time, and talent we put into it, can all be undone and swept away. We just have to accept, embrace, and be in gratitude for the value and all that the creation brought us.  Life is filled with dual experiences and we learn and grow from each one of those experiences.

I’m glad that you’re visiting my blog!

With gratitude,

Elaine

13 thoughts on “A life Lesson from Sand Mandalas

  1. Wow!
    Firstly, glad that you’re writing again. 😀
    I am very struck by your interpretation of the experience of the sand mandalas process. As I ponder on what you said, I realize that we(I) tend to worry so much about the future outcomes of our endeavors, that there must be some sense of unique peace with this mindset. I sense that this mindset brings a deeper fulfillment and joy of the present.
    I must confess though, that this mindset is going to be difficult for me, for I am driven by my purpose, i. e. goals.
    Thank you for sharing this experience. Loved your writing. Can you give me some info on how I could experience this?
    Thanks,
    Raj

    • Hi Raj, thanks for visiting and commenting. I’m glad that my thoughts on the sand mandalas caused some measure of reflection for you. In 2010 when I was standing there looking on and experiencing the peaceful moments, I didn’t think of sand mandalas and what they represent as I do today. It’s interesting how life experiences can help us to reflect and grow. I will check to see if the Buddhist temple will have an event this year and let you know. I want to go again too.

      I look forward to more of your visits to my blog.

  2. Because the name of your blog is memorable for me, I’ve thought about you from time to time, wondering how you are and what you’re doing. It’s great to see you back on the blogosphere. I do so like the way you write your pieces.

  3. Elaine it is lovely to see you back and I hurried over to hear how you are. I spent a week once watching a group of Tibetan monks making some sand mandalas. It was awe inspiring, observing the concentration, the perfection and care in their movements and their quiet pleasure in building the patterns. Then, without taking breath, without taking a minute to lean back and admire the creation – when the last runnel of sand left the last hand, the hands swished through the design and obliterated the beauty. I felt bereft!! I thought about it for days afterwards and it became pivotal in changing my thinking about permanence and impermanence and what is really important in life. It is a powerful lesson!

    I think you are dealing with something very large and important. My best wishes to you and of course lots of love too xo

Leave a Reply

