Home » Rural cooking in Guyana » Cooking on a Mudstove in Guyana

Cooking on a Mudstove in Guyana

Mudstove in rural Guyana

Mudstove in rural Guyana

Today’s post is about a traditional cooking stove in low-income rural households in Guyana, my birth country.

This photo was taken in 2011 when my husband visited Guyana. We call this mudstove , a “fireside”. Poverty/low income is a constant in the rural parts of Guyana and many of the residents cook on these firesides. We cooked on a fireside for many years. We had a kerosene stove, but the cost of kerosene caused my mom to return back to mudstove cooking.

As you can imagine, the smoke from these mudstoves cause serious air pollution and health issues. However, the poor had limited choices (those limitations continue today). Nobody paid any attention to the air pollution; I don’t recall any conversations on such topics. We just carried on with life and living!

I am grateful that I am no longer exposed to such household environmental pollution. I continue to keep the hope that someday, residents in rural households in Guyana and all over the world will enjoy a better standard of cooking.

13 thoughts on “Cooking on a Mudstove in Guyana

    • Yes, I know this is a luxury for some. Blessings continue to come my way, KB. About the taste of the food, it’s been a very long time since I ate food cooked on a fireside, it’s now hard for me to compare. Have a great balance of the week!

  1. It is always a good thing to remember our roots! I am amazed at human ingenuity – at how there is always a way of making what is needed. While I’m in favour of returning to a simpler way of living, this is maybe a step too far. Thank you for sharing this. xo

Leave a Reply

