Home » recipes » Scrumptious, Sweet Scones

Scrumptious, Sweet Scones

Today’s Daily Prompt: Write about a time you had a Goldilocks experience, exploring different choices and finally arriving at the “just right”.

Many people like to eat scones with a little bit of jam, but I prefer to have the “sweetness” baked into the scones. Over the years, I’ve experimented with a basic recipe and finally came up with this “just right” one.

Chocolate Chip Raisin Scones

Ingredients

2 cups all purpose flour

4 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons cold butter, cut into small pieces

¾ cup raisins

½ cup white chocolate chips

1 large egg

½ cup milk

2-3 tablespoons condensed milk

Dash of grated nutmeg (optional)

How to Make

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt in one bowl.
  3. Whisk the egg, milk, sugar, condensed milk and nutmeg together in another bowl.
  4. Drop the butter into the flour. Use your fingers to rub the butter into the flour until the mixture is like course pebbles
  5. Pour in the milk mixture. Mix with a fork until the dough is evenly moist.
  6. Add the chocolate chips and raisins. Mix with a fork or the tips of your fingers. Dough will be sticky.
  7. Spoon about 15 tablespoons of dough onto a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy these scrumptious, sweet scones with tea or coffee.

Elaine's Sweet Scones

Elaine’s Sweet Scones

12 thoughts on “Scrumptious, Sweet Scones

  1. I haven’t tried rice flour – but I have spelt and buckwheat flours and shall try them. If they don’t work, I’ll try rice. Winter is coming and this is the time when I feel like a scone or two!

  2. Yep! Quite sweet😄 I’ve been exploring and experiment with this recipe since 2009. Have you tried making yours with rice flour? When we were kids, there was a restriction on certain imported goods and wheat flour was on that list. My mom often turned to rice-flour as a substitute.

    Adding this in: I was supposed to line up this response with Pauline’s comment.

  3. They sound very sweet Elaine – a delight for the sweet toothed! I would make those if I still ate scones!! A good scone recipe takes a long time to perfect doesn’t it. I had just perfected my savoury scone mixture when I gave up wheat 🙂 Sigh!!

    • Pauline, I just realized that my response to your comment did not line up under yours and now I can’t even copy and paste it here😄 Let’s blame it on the midnight hour! When you return to my blog, my response about rice flour belongs to you.

Leave a Reply

