Home » Uncategorized » Easy as Pie!

Easy as Pie!

The last post I made was in September and it is now November. Now, this is what I call total neglect of my blog and the blogs I follow. What have been doing with my time? Busy? Yes. Busy doing what? What can I say? Life has been happening!

This week’s wordpress challenge is to write about pie.

As a child, my mom didn’t bake pies. She made the best sponge cakes and Christmas cakes. I can still see myself licking the batter off the spoon. Yummy! Mom baked her cakes in a box oven that she placed on top of our kerosene stove. It was a complicated process. I’ll have to get all the details from her and make write a separate blog post on our oven. Oh, I must say that a sponge cake is what folks in the USA will call a pound cake.

I learned about pies here in the USA. I have two favorite pies  –  key lime pie and pumpkin pie. I have never baked a key lime pie. My children and their friends love my pumpkin pie! Here is the recipe I use…it is as easy as pie! What is your favorite pie?

My dear readers, I look forward to hearing from you.

Credit: Bing Images

Credit: Bing Images

Simply Delicious Pumpkin Pie

1 (9 inch) unbaked pastry shell
1 (16 oz.) can pumpkin
1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
2 eggs
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. nutmeg

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Combine ingredients in large bowl, pour into shell, bake 15 minutes, reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees and continue baking for 35-40 minutes until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

12 thoughts on “Easy as Pie!

  1. Sweet Potato Pie, of course! Key lime is good too. I’ve made several myself, but I haven’t found the recipe to make me slap my mama, yet. Happy Eating…

  2. My goodness Elaine, how lovely to see you back! I have missed your cheerful comments and happy posts – this is a treat in so many ways! When my children were young I used to make pumpkin pie every Autumn and Winter – it was a great favourite of everyone and the recipe is exactly the same as yours except I used fresh pumpkin not canned. Isn’t that amazing – all these years and miles apart and the recipe is the same – it almost makes me want to make one now 🙂

  3. It’s so good to see you, Elaine! I’ve missed you. Thanks for the recipe. I’ve never been good with pies, cakes and cookies are my specialty, but this sounds fairly easy. My father loves pumpkin pie so I might have to give it a try the Thanksgiving. I’ll let you know how it turns out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

