Home » life experience » Five-Year Project: The Garbage Cans

Five-Year Project: The Garbage Cans

My Readers,

This is a short post today about my five-year garbage can project. Have you ever taken so long to complete a simple project? I’d love to hear from you!

In the summer of 2009, I was at the Brooklyn Bridge Park in NY and the garbage bins caught my eye.  They were works of art – they were painted with beautiful scenes of nature with bold, vibrant colors. The image stayed in my mind and I promised that I would try my creativity with the garbage cans in my classroom.  I’m finally honoring my commitment, five years later.

This summer, I tried to be creative with two garbage bins, but my creativity yielded just a coat of paint and some stickers.  One would think that a five-year project would have been something to behold! Alas, nothing eye-catching. I happy to say that I  did honor my commitment : )

Here is a “before” photo of one of the cans.

garbage can before (1)

Here is the “after” photo.

garbage can after

15 thoughts on “Five-Year Project: The Garbage Cans

  1. Now that’s a major improvement. And I have taken years to complete some projects. We like to collect beer labels and decoupage them onto things, like our coffee table. Takes some time to collect enough labels, but it’s a labor of love.

  2. A vast improvement – I am always amazed at what a can of paint and a few stickers can do! I should love to see the blue one as that is my favourite colour 🙂 And kudos for finishing it too – I think I would have completely forgotten after five years! Lovely to see you back. I hope you had a fabulous summer and are ready for the new school year 🙂

    • I had great summer break, Pauline. I still have to prepare a few things this weekend to start off the new school year on Monday. I bet if your cans were not so good looking you would have remembered your plan to paint them. I don’t think you would have waited five years as I did. The blue can is simple- no stickers or anything. I’ll take a pic of it next week. Red is my favorite color:)

Leave a Reply

