Home » Uncategorized » My Mother’s Salt and Chalk Art

My Mother’s Salt and Chalk Art

Image

I have been a bit neglectful of my blog recently. If being busy is an acceptable excuse, then I submit this excuse to my readers.

Today, I’d like to share with you a salt and chalk jar my mom created about three weeks ago. I think it’s beautiful and worth sharing with others. I’d love to share your comments with my mother!

Have a great week!

May 19th- adding to the post:

I will certainly share all your lovely comments with my mom.
This creative process (borrowing Pauline’s words) is a result of a very stressful experience my mom had at the end of March. To help her with the situation, I put a weekly plan into action that includes some art. The salt and chalk jar is one of her creations. Thanks again for your beautiful compliments. Here are the steps

1. Put about 3 tablespoons of salt in a flexible paper plate (the thin, cheap ones)
2. Rub the colored chalk on the salt until you have your desired color
3. Pour the colored salt into a clear container
4. Repeat this process with a different color of chalk until your container is full
5. Be careful not to shake your container
6. Get a paper plate for each color of chalk
7. Use one tablespoon of salt at a time  if your container is smaller than the one shown.

If you try it, please share with us:)

13 thoughts on “My Mother’s Salt and Chalk Art

  1. What a lovely project! Thank your mom for giving me my first project of the summer. Thank you for including the directions. I’m sure mine won’t come out nearly as neat, beautiful and professional looking as hers.

  2. I am so impressed with the geometry of it! And as I have no idea how your mum made this little beauty that’s about all I can say. Does she mix the colours herself – I love the soft pastel hues – how on earth does she get those straight lines? I am intrigued and would love more information on the creative process.

    PS – It is nice to see you back with a post 🙂

  3. That is stunning – what a creative mum you have! My kids have ones they made (using coloured sand) in their rooms, but they’re not nearly as creative. She could set up a business and sell them.

    • Thank you, Gemma! When I showed my mom how to make the jar, I had no idea that she was going to finish the top in this manner. Yes, to creative:)

      When my children were kids, we made these during their summer holidays.

  4. Wow! That is absolutely beautiful, Elaine! Tell your mother I’d be first in line to purchase that work of art. Is she willing to reveal how it was made? It’s so colorful and lovely!
    Have a great week! xo

Leave a Reply

