Home » life experience » Saved by the bell?

Saved by the bell?

Saved by the Bell

 

Credit: Bing Images

Credit: Bing Images

Here’s a reflection from when I was 13 years old in 3rd form in secondary school.  My English teacher was not engaging at all that afternoon and since I was sitting toward the back of the class, when the bell rang, I dashed out of the classroom with two of my peers. Yes, I was saved by the bell. Not really. Miss K. saw when we left and sprung into action.  She took the attendance before dismissing the class and then got the register (attendance records) from the office to verify who was absent from school that day.

The next day, when she arrived to class, we were punished. We had to write “I will not disobey the rules” 100 times. That was the first and final punishment I ever received for the duration of my secondary school experience. Whenever I think of this incident I always smile because that behavior was out of character for me. Was I saved by the bell? Perhaps, I was. If Miss K. didn’t catch me, I probably would have skipped class the next time I thought that my English teacher would not be engaging. Then again, I was thought of as a “model student” and I couldn’t spoil that title, could I? 🙂

 

 

27 thoughts on “Saved by the bell?

  1. I’m sorry to hear that happened to you — it seems like a travesty to me that, in our culture, we teach children that they have to keep listening to an adult for hours even if they find it stultifying. It took me a while to understand that I didn’t have to keep listening to someone for as long as they wanted to keep talking, and actually could exercise some independent judgment around the interactions I wanted to have.

  2. I once had to write: I will not talk in class 100 times and it was my neighbor who was talking but I got blamed. I remember being devastated since I never got in trouble. now it’s kinda funny.

  3. Ms. K reminds me of the many teachers that took time to really care and instill the right values to their students. Save by the bell change our lives for the better when we grow up. Inspiring story. Thanks.

  4. Unfortunately I was with the naughty group at school. So naughty that our Headmaster once called us into his office and told us we had the devil inside of us! Those poor teachers. I think we made them do more than their fair share of work for their money…

  5. I was a “model” student until I was a senior in high school. I envied the kids who had the guts to ditch classes. Even when I did it during that last year, I couldn’t enjoy myself because of the guilt and fear I felt. Was I wimpy? Probably.

  6. You have a generous interpretation of the punishment and your lesson learned, Elaine. I still seethe when I remember a 7th grade English teacher who believed a student who was caught cheating and said I let her cheat from my paper! The policy was that both were punished…but my seat was across the room from her seat and she said my name to keep from making her friend mad at her.
    Years later when I became an English teacher of high school students, I remembered this, and made sure I never accepted damaging “evidence” at face value!

  7. I remember students being punished by writing on the chalkboard. Thankfully, I was never one of those students. I was always scared of my teachers, especially my third grade teacher, Mrs. Buser. She was 65+ years old, but she was hard core. No one misbehaved in her class.
    Have a great week, Elaine!

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Saved By The Bell – the Daily Problem | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. I cannot imagine you being anything but a model student! I agree about the line writing thing – total stupidity! It was a commonly given punishment in my day and some kids had hours of line-writing to do from different teachers……… I remember one ingenious soul who used to just write the same word in a vertical column 100 times – thereby avoiding learning the complete sentence.

  10. I was punished many times in school, but I can’t remember ever having to do the “write this 100 times” thing. Still, breaking the rules can feel good sometimes.

Leave a Reply

