Home » life experience » Stress Happens!

Stress Happens!

“Take a deep breath, pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again.” ~ Frank Sinatra

 

Credit: Bing Images

Credit: Bing Images

Stress happens. For some, stress is an iron chain around the neck that keeps them immobile and for others it is simply an occurrence that they work through or doesn’t affect them at all. A personal example – my mom wears the chain and my dad does not even know the word!

Did you know that April is Stress Awareness month? I didn’t until a few days ago. What is one of the biggest stressors in my life? Change. I like to say that I embrace change, but that is not entirely accurate. I often deny and fight it before accepting it. How do I manage my stress? Here are a few things I do in no particular order…

  • Talk to a friend
  • Read – book, article, blog posts etc.
  • Go for a walk
  • Count my blessings
  • Eat something sweet
  • Take deep breaths
  • Cry
  • Find something to laugh about
  • Look at my photo albums or my digital photos on my computer
  • Write
  • Express and show gratitude
  • Remind myself that each day is a gift – it is made up of dual experiences
  • Give myself a pep talk
  • Make a declaration such as, “today I am going to have a great day”
  • Accept that changes are necessary shifts in life. Shift happens!

How do you handle stress that comes your way?

Have a stress-free week!

Manhattan sunset

14 thoughts on “Stress Happens!

  1. A great list of anti-stress remedy. Stress is indeed prevalent and a cause of so many illness, physical, mental, psychological and many more. How we handle them makes a difference. I think one way to overcome them is simplifying our life and staying away from the negatives, the pessimist and our triggers. Sadly, there are stress that we have to face everyday and taking a deep breathe, clearing our minds and finding our happy peaceful place in our mind helps. Have a blessed weekend!

  2. I’m a realist so I’m one of those who always goes with the last suggestion on your list. Life is. It’s neither good nor bad. It just happens. Take it as it comes.

  3. Lovely photo! I handle stress by walking, meditation, reading. Those things that keep me calm. Stress has such an impact on our bodies and mental state; headaches, heart problems, depression – I feel for those people that carry such loads they can’t escape their stresses. I’m very lucky and have options to alleviate my stress, but many don’t. Great post!

    • Gemma, I think about meditation and I even tried it a couple of times. However, whenever I tried, my mind was bombarded with so many thoughts that I just gave up. Stress is a major factor in many illnesses. I am glad that you make use of your options to relieve yours. Have a super-duper week!

  4. That is such a good check list Elaine – you certainly have a good handle on your stress remedies! I am like you [I suspect most of us are] I shy away from change, unless I have instigated it, in which case I don’t know why everyone else is making such a fuss 🙂

    When I’m really stressed about something and I have to make a decision, I often make lists – pros and cons; long term / short term etc. It helps me sort things logically which helps me step away from fear, which means I feel calmer……. I wish I could just hop on the treadmill and walk it off like Jill does – but that is usually the last thing I think of.

    Your photo is a stunner – Jill is right, it is an absolute stress buster. And love those lyrics – they have certainly been well used in my life 🙂

    Have a wonderful week Elaine, may ll your stresses be tiny ones xoxo

    • Hi Pauline, come to think of it, if I instigate the change, I also wonder why others fuss :- ) I’m not a consistent pros and cons list maker, I ought to try this strategy more often. About my list, eating something sweet is not good, I have to get rid of this one.I’m glad you like the photo. I read in your posts how you’ve dusted yourself off and kept on moving and achieving! Have a super week.

  5. Hi Jill, I took that photo a few years ago when I was on the Sunset Circle Line Cruise in Manhattan. It is truly a beautiful sunset. Treadmill and Kindle- a great combo! Exercise is a great stress buster! I will certainly enjoy the rest of my weekend :- )

  6. Oh, Elaine…I can look at that beautiful photo and my stress melts away! Usually I hop on my treadmill with my Kindle and the stress disappears.
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend! xo

Leave a Reply

