Home » life experience » Remembering a Happy Moment

Remembering a Happy Moment

I had no idea that International Happiness Day was Thursday, March 20th until a friend sent me a note telling me about it. The United Nations General Assembly established this observance on June 28, 2012; it is fairly new as you can see. This specific day of the year was set aside to promote the well-being of all people across the globe.

What does happiness mean to you? From where do we get our happiness? Do we need other people to make us happy? How do we know that we are happy? How can we tell when others are happy? Can people be happier? What is the secret to happiness? These are some questions that have been serious topics of discussions, essays, conversations, and books. I will not attempt to answer any of these questions for I know it no easy feat. What I will do in this post today is share a happy moment with you.

It was early January of 1999, I had just walked across the graduation stage in December of 1998, and I was on my first interview for a temporary position at an elementary school. My stomach was doing flip-flops. I was a like a cat in a room full of dogs. My knees were jelly as I sat in the chair. My cheeks were on fire. You get the picture! I tried my best to stay calm and composed throughout the interview that lasted over 90 minutes. When I was through with it, I was so confused that I didn’t even know if the interviewer told me that I got the job or if she will follow-up with me. I was too scared to ask.

When I got home, I kept reliving the interview, question by question hoping to recall the moment I missed. What seemed like a hundred hours (it was only about two), my telephone rang and it was “my boss” calling to tell me that she would like to hire me for a full time position. I was speechless. Needless to say, it was a very happy moment.

I was so happy that I wanted to hug and kiss the bug guy who was spraying our home, but I contained myself. I was so happy that tears of joy rolled down my cheeks. I didn’t restrain myself. I was happy when I got the call for that job and am still happy today with this job.

Would you like to share a happy moment with us today? Would you like respond to some of the questions about happiness?

Have a happy Week!

Spring Flowers Bring Us Happiness. Photo Credit:  E. Rampersaud

Spring Flowers Bring Us Happiness.
Photo Credit: E. Rampersaud

14 thoughts on “Remembering a Happy Moment

  1. My happiest moment recently was when I finally posted the first episode of my animated musical webseries. It had been more than two years of writing, looking for cast and crew to work with, scrapping the initial draft we did of the animation of the first episode, etc., etc., and I couldn’t believe the moment was finally there.

  2. The older I get the more little things make me happy. Of course, getting a new job and graduating are happy moments and I do remember those times. But now, even when I have a nice dinner with my partner or spend some time in the pub, I’m happy. Once i started embracing the little things, I became a much happier and more relaxed person.

  3. Kiss the bug guy? 😉 Surely not while he was spraying!
    But I know what you mean. When I was called for my first teaching job–it was for a position teaching high school English and speech–I was so excited I’m sure I sounded like a blubbering idiot. It was a great moment for me, though I imagine the principal was having second thoughts!

    • Now that would have been a funny sight! 🙂 I am smiling here with the image of you as a blubbering idiot. I am sure the principal understood your excitement was happy to have an enthusiastic teacher on board. Do high school still offer speech classes?

      May your week overflow with happiness, Marylin!

  4. I felt your heart pounding in excitement as you shared your “happy day” moment. You made me remember my first U.S. Nursing interview. I was awaken from my sleep with a phone call from California. For awhile I thought it was a prank until the next day the supervisor talked to me and the rest was history. It’s good to remember the Simple things that made us happy so in the present we value the both the little and big things/ events that matter the most. Happy Day my friend!

    • It’s good to know that my post made you think of your first U.S nursing job as you pursued the American Dream! Sometimes when things sound too good to be true we think that someone is playing a joke. I am glad that that call was a reality and not a prank!
      I like your post this week on the American Dream. Have a happy week, my friend!

  5. Well I have never heard of International Happiness Day – shameful. I can tell you a small, but happy memory. We were on a weekend away in the countryside staying at a tiny chalet overlooking the hills. My husband had taken the dog and kids off for a huge walk allowing me to write and read the afternoon away. I sat on the decking, the sun sinking behind the hills, glass of wine in hand. Silence, except for the birds and the tapping of my keyboard. As evening approached, I heard the sound of distant voices and looked up to spot three tiny figures beneath a crimson sky hiking over the crest of the hill, chatting & laughing, a dog dashing between them. They were on their way home. Sometimes it’s the smallest things that make us happy 🙂

    • I never heard about International Happiness Day until it was brought to my attention, Gemma! I agree that the smallest things make us happy. What a picturesque scene you created with your words. Thank you for sharing this beautiful and happy moment with us. May your week be filled with many happy moments 🙂

  6. Interviews are so nerve-racking, aren’t they? I’m so happy you got the job and after all of these years, you still enjoy it.
    I think many people depend on other people or their circumstance at the moment, for their happiness. Happiness is a choice and it must come from within. Each day I wake up, I have a choice to be happy or miserable…I’d rather be happy!
    Have a happy week, Elaine! 🙂

    • Interviews can be tough! There are days when I don’t enjoy my job. However, as you know, life is made up of dual experiences.
      I’m glad you are making that daily choice to be happy, Jill. Our circumstances in life do dictate the emotions we well, but we are ultimately in charge of making those choices that will lift our spirit.

      Have a happy week! :- )

  7. I think the western world should follow Bhutan’s example and instead of having GNP as a measure of wealth have GNH [Gross National Happiness] – wouldn’t that make a better world!

    I am so happy to hear that you still love your job after all these years – that is also a measure of personal happiness. Your posts spread happiness and positivity and I love that about you!

    • Thanks for your kind words, Pauline! I like the idea of Gross National Happiness 🙂
      I don’t know why WordPress placed your comment in the “to be approved” category today.
      Have a great week, my friend. Enjoy all your activities!

Leave a Reply

