Home » Heart Health Month » February: Happy, Healthy, Heart

February: Happy, Healthy, Heart

Credit: Bing Images

Credit: Bing Images

If you were to ask me how I feel about Valentine’s Day, I would say it is highly commercialized, a money-making event, and a stressful time for many men and women. Doesn’t sound like I am a romantic, does it? I am a practical romantic. Years ago, I had a heart to heart talk with my husband and asked him not to get caught up in Valentine’s Day- we celebrate our love for each other daily.

We in America just celebrated Valentine’s Day- a day set aside to openly show your love with flowers, cards, chocolates, dinners, etc. Yet, this very day can add stress to one’s heart. The expectations can be too high. I’ve heard that about 15% of women send flowers to themselves? Why? Do they want to avoid questions/perceptions that might cause stress? I suppose so. Some may frown upon this, but, it can be a good thing. These women have their hearts set on protecting and taking care of their hearts. The healthcare industry also wants us to take care of our hearts.

February is dedicated as Heart Awareness Month and all across the nation the healthcare industry is encouraging people to take care of the heart. The American Heart Association wants us to have our hearts in the right place by choosing heart healthy behaviors and knowing the numbers by heart that impact us.

  1. If you smoke, stop.
  2. Keep your BMI lower than 25
  3. Get active
  4. Eat healthy, balanced meals
  5. Aim for below 200 cholesterol below 200
  6. Keep the blood pressure below 120/80
  7. Work toward a fasting blood sugar of below 100

If we are not currently aware of these seven things, let’s not lose heart, we can dedicate each day as a heart day and put our heart and soul into taking care of this muscle that we all want to keep throbbing for a long, long time. I do. Don’t you?

Let your heart beat for you first so it can beat for others.

To all my readers, please accept my heartfelt hugs!

???????????????????????????????

11 thoughts on “February: Happy, Healthy, Heart

  1. Pingback: The Silent Treatment | fingerprintwriting

  2. Great post and I agree everyday giving is a must for a lasting relationship. I do not approve of the commercial aspect of any holiday for that matter. Heart healthy tips are great and the less stress we have the better it is for our hearts. I agree with you 100% on everything my friend. Take care and God bless.

  3. A healthy heart inside and out is indeed a great gift we can give ourselves and our love ones. I agree with commercial aspect of Valentine’s Day and yes, stressful. There is that bit of excitement though and for as long as we don’t over spent and go over board, a simple act of thoughtfulness brings lots of happy smiles. Belated Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. Thank you for sharing these important tips to keep our heart healthy, Elaine. This is so much more important than the commercialization of Valentine’s Day. I’ve never been a supporter of V-Day. I think we should treat everyone with love and respect every day, not just on February 14th…but that’s just me. xo

    • Jill, your thought on treating everyone with love and respect every day and not just on February 14th is an excellent addition to the list I posted. When we make others feel good, that feeling is reciprocal. What a great stress buster and healthy heart habit. Enjoy your week! 🙂

  5. Pauline, I like how you worded it, “commercially driven celebrations”. Right after Christmas, some stores started displaying Valentine’s merchandise.:-) Valentine’s Day was part of my teenage years and sentiments were expressed with a simple card. Perhaps there were young people who exchanged gifts and flowers, but I didn’t. 🙂 I agree with you that relationships need special moments every day. These special moments build warm, wonderful memories. Have a great week!

  6. Valentines Day commercially driven celebrations are a uniquely American thing that has been encouraged to ‘sweep’ the rest of the world because of those commercial interests……gotta sell those chocolates and scent-less roses!! It didn’t exist in my world when I was younger and more malleable 🙂 so have never participated in it. I am not surprised to read that so many women send themselves flowers – the peer pressure must be immense! I was also really happy Elaine to read that you had a ‘heart to heart’ with your husband – because when you are in a relationship every day must have a.special moment between the two people, if you want the relationship to last. Great post!! 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

