Home » Christmas tradition » Our Christmas Tradition

Our Christmas Tradition

English: A bauble on a Christmas tree.

Photo credit: Wikipedia

All over the world, those who celebrate Christmas have traditions that add that extra joy and sparkle to their holidays. In our family, it is the Christmas tree tradition. During the first week of December, my husband goes out and buys two Christmas trees. He delivers one to his sister and the other is for us.

We don’t usually decorate the tree the day it arrives; we wait a day or two just enjoying the smell of pine. I’m not sure exactly when my oldest daughter took on the role of making sure everyone will be home, but over the years, she lets everyone know what evening the decorating will be happening so we don’t make any other plans.

Our home is filled with Christmas music, laughter, and the occasional warning shout of “don’t step on the lights”! As we hang the ornaments, there is always conversation of how we acquired them. Year after year we put up the family photo ornament that my niece made when she was in elementary school and the ones my own children made. There isn’t a tangible theme for our tree – the theme is simply a collection of memories.

This year, we deviated from tradition just a little in that we got our tree before Thanksgiving and decorated it after our Thanksgiving dinner. The reason being, we all were not going to be home during the first week of December.

I know that the time will come when my children will not be at home to decorate the tree, but with the wonderful technology we have these days, we can still be together with the able assistance of the webcam!

It is my hope that my son follows the tradition of his father and buys a Christmas tree for his two sisters when they have their own homes. I am confident that my children will continue the tree decorating tradition when they get their own families.

The tree decorating tradition is a special one for our family. What is yours?

May the joys of the season warm all our hearts!

Christmas Tree- 2013

16 thoughts on “Our Christmas Tradition

  1. I’m catching up on my blog reading Elaine and am glad I did not miss this one! I love that your husband delivers the tree and also hope your son will continue this tradition – it is such a kind and loving gesture!

    Now my family is grown and flown our Christmases have a different flavour – but my girls always talk about their childhood memories and they re-create within their own homes much of what was created for them….. traditions continue well when they are borne of love I think!

    Enjoy your Christmas and your lovely family, I send you much love xoxo

  2. I love pine, but for scent, the regal balsam gets my vote every time. If I had a bit of land, I’d plant enough of them for the rest of my days . . . Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year to you and your family. ~ Linne

  3. What a beautiful tree, Elaine! On Christmas Eve we attend church service. Afterward we drive through neighborhoods looking at Christmas lights. Once home we have snacks and open gifts. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

