Home » attitude of gratitude » My Prized Possession: A Collection of Letters

My Prized Possession: A Collection of Letters

For the past several years, just around the first week of December, I go to my closet and take out my box of birthday letters and spend a few minutes reading all the beautiful thoughts 37 people penned to me.

I always tell my family that I want to get my flowers when I am alive; when I can enjoy and feel the joy of receiving them. I always tell my family people need to hear kind words and nice things about themselves when they are alive. Why wait until the person dies? My family heard me. For my 37th birthday, one of my daughters spearheaded the “Mom’s Birthday Letters” project. The 37 letters I received brought immense joy and happiness to me then and still do today. These letters have taken up real estate in my heart! Today, I will share with you one of my letters. I’ve retyped it verbatim, except for my name. I replaced my nickname with my real name.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Elaine my dear,

Today as you celebrate your birthday, my thoughts will be with you as yours will be with many others as well. It will be unjust if I do not take this opportunity to congratulate Roshini for thinking about you and creating a gift that will probably end up being your most prized possessions; one you can refer to and cherish long after she is all grown up and gone. My invitation to participation in your book of love is indeed an honor.

Elaine, I have known you for about 17 years and I think you look the same – young and pretty.  Your early adult years were fun-filled for your childhood lingered. I realized that only because we worked together which gave me the chance to know you for the person you are. I watched you grow and most importantly mature through laughter and tears.

We spent some school years together, though not classroom time. We were there for each other for support and to lend an ear. Those days were rough ones and I will never forget them. Those were also good years where we actually developed our friendship as it is today. That time in your life was also blessed, for in my opinion, it forced you to grow up fast.

I remember vividly the excitement you displayed on your 25th birthday. I was very happy for you then as I am today. Youthful days gave you extra energy to deal with the trials of motherhood. You did a wonderful job and your success shows in the three beautiful children you have. Now both you and your husband can welcome their accomplishments with great pride.

Over the years, I watched you blossom into the woman you are. Your educational path led you here, your community involvement, your unselfish thoughts and time devoted to others, your family life, a loving wife and mother…these qualities my friend will continue to bloom and take you into the golden years.

On this your 37th birthday, the pleasure is all mine to be able to call you friend. It was God’s will and my good fortune to see where you were yesterday, where you are today and your journey into the tomorrows ahead.

A special wish to you for  a happy, healthy, and blessed birthday. Cherish today and continue to embrace tomorrow with a smile.

Love,

Seroj

bday cake

14 thoughts on “My Prized Possession: A Collection of Letters

  1. One never knows what the memory will be in the future, but these handwritten notes are built for the ages. Consider yourself blessed that you had 37 people to respond.

  2. I love this, Elaine. The handwritten letter, unfortunately, is disappearing due to our high-tech ways. When is your birthday? If I missed it…HAPPY BIRTHDAY! If I had your address, I’d write you a handwritten birthday wish. 🙂

  3. Pauline, thank you for your kind and thoughtful comment. I haven’t told my friend that I published her letter as yet:-) Thank you also for the birthday wishes. Having a December birthday is special in that it allows me to reflect on the entire calendar year. Have a great week and I shall do the same.

  4. Dear Elaine, that is a beautiful letter, a genuine reflection on the soul of one from the soul of another. There is nobody who knows us so well as those who have walked alongside us for a good many years. The writer says nothing about you that I have not already garnered from being a friend of your blog.

    You had a birthday , please accept my greetings and wishes for a wonderful year ahead.
    xoxoPauline

Leave a Reply

