Home » life experience » Roshini

Roshini

“Must a name mean something?” Alice asked doubtfully.
Of course it must,” Humpty Dumpty said with a short laugh; “my name means the shape I am – and a good handsome shape it is, too. With a name like yours, you might be any shape, almost.” 
― Lewis Carroll

Nowadays, wanting to know the gender of the unborn baby is something that many parents embrace easily. When I had my first baby, I didn’t want to know the gender. I wanted the doctor to announce it when baby arrived. My husband and I spent very little time choosing a name for our baby –  if we were blessed with a baby boy, he will be Roshan and if a girl she will be Roshini. That’s it. There was no what ifs, no back and forth, no consulting with others –  we settled on those two names and did not waver.

Roshan and Roshini are Hindi names and both mean light. We knew that our baby will bring light into our lives and brighten our world and these names were just perfect.

Just over a quarter century ago, we welcomed our baby girl Roshini into the world. She immediately filled our lives and home with light and brightness, and continue to do so today and everyday.

Roshini adds light and brightness where ever she goes…her smile is as bright and radiant as a sunflower.

Today’s post is in response to the Daily Prompt.

24 thoughts on “Roshini

  1. Pingback: Narrow: The Washington Monument | fingerprintwriting

  2. What a beautiful post Elaine! How wonderful for an unborn soul to be so known and so loved and so respected by its parents – what a wonderful start! Roshini is such a beautiful name. I too had my children in the days before it was possible to know the sex. The excitement of finding out the gender went with that sublime moment of receiving my baby into my arms for the first time. Moments never to be forgotten I think 🙂

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Alastair's Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Alastair's Blog

  5. Pingback: The Naming Game | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

