Home » life experience » A Powerful Habit: Responsibility

A Powerful Habit: Responsibility

Responsibility means doing what you’re supposed to do even when you don’t feel like it. ~Patricia Ortega, Mental Health Counselor.

Responsibility is a habit, a powerful habit. It is a habit that I strive toward daily in my life’s journey and I know I am not alone. I don’t think anyone gets up in the morning and says, “Today, I’m going work hard to build bad habits.” On the contrary, we all genuinely want to become better individuals. We all want to make our good habits better.

Here are my five ways, in no particular order, to build the powerful habit of responsibility.

Be polite: People may not remember what you did, but they will remember how you made them feel. You don’t have to know someone to say good morning, hello, or share your smile. Hold the door for the person behind you. Let someone else go ahead of you in line. Wake up each day and vow to be polite.

Be a good listener: Fight, fight, fight that urge to interrupt. In our family, we regularly interrupt each other. We definitely have to work harder on this one! Don’t finish other people’s sentences, unless you’re a mind reader and know what they want to say! Watch that wandering mind and bring it back to the conversation.

English: Houston, TX., 9/10/2005 -- Vicki LaTo...

Photo credit: Wikipedia

Be “present” in the company of others: Have you ever noticed how someone picks up his/her cell phone while in the company of others and proceeds to have a conversation or exchange texts? If you’re expecting an important call or message, state it ahead of time. All other calls, tweets, texts, or updates can wait. Enjoy the human interaction. Recently, I was at a restaurant and every member of a family of four was on the phone or other electronic device while they were waiting to be served.

Dress appropriately: I firmly believe that we ought to dress to suit the occasion. I don’t wear a blouse and slacks to the beach, so I certainly won’t wear a low-cut top and ripped jeans to a meeting with my child’s teacher.

Be reflective: One might ask, “How can being reflective help me to be responsible”? Reflecting on our day, an event, a situation, or even a moment can help us to focus on what matters. Reflecting keeps us thoughtful, grounded, and balanced.

As an adult, when I keep these five points in mind and act upon them, I know that I am doing what I’m supposed to do even when I don’t feel like it. I’m working toward being more responsible.

27 thoughts on “A Powerful Habit: Responsibility

  1. Pingback: A Powerful Habit: Responsibility | Passages of the Heart

    • Whenever we want to see a change, we have to begin with ourselves. I’m a work in progress for the points I talked about in this quote. Thank you very much for the visit and your lovely comment, Sofia.

  2. I love this post. The second point is the one I need to work hard at. Although it would help me greatly to consider improving myself in every area that you have mentioned. You have made me put on my thinking cap. Thanks for doing such a favor. Great post. Take care and have a lovely weekend.

  3. I love this post and, yes, guilty of all the above. I read the most beautiful quote the other day ‘Attention is the rarest and purest form of generosity.’ The points you have made above really hit home with me. It’s so easy to get swept away in ourselves we can forget these simple gestures of human decency. Thank you 😉

    • I’m glad you like these points, Gemma. Thank you for sharing the quote; it’s a fitting addition to this blog post. I agree that we can get swept up with our lives, but we need to pause now and then to take a few moments to reflect.

  4. Hebrews 13:16 states: And do not forget to do good and to share with others for with such sacrifices, God is pleased. Today’s post reminds us all of our God given responsibility to be self disciplined and polite. Not only will the person never forget, but neither will the Most High whom we should all strive to please. Thanks for the reminder.

  5. Love it! Great tips for building better relationships – with family, friends, coworkers, neighbors, anyone. Love the quote on responsibility 😉

  6. I love this, Elaine! Being a good listener is so important. Your point of being present plays into being a good listener. I find it offensive to be talking with someone and they pull out their phone when it chimes with a new message. The world would be a better place if everyone applied these points to their everyday lives…..great job!

  7. Hi Elaine – This is a lovely post. I am always so happy when I see/hear/read of someone working to become the best they can be. I believe that learning to take responsibility for everything in our lives is one of the most important things we learn to do – and it takes a life time! And your last point ;reflection’ is the most important thing we do that helps us get there…… I am [sometimes] a life guide [or ‘coach’, but I don’t like that term] and this is what I work with all my clients on! Thank you for making my day!

    • Hi Pauline, it’s wonderful to have a life coach validate my writing! Thank you very much for your lovely, kind, and encouraging comment. I agree that responsibility takes a life time to learn. I am a lifelong learner:-)

Leave a Reply

