Home » humor » Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthy, maybe not!

Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthy, maybe not!

Do you feel uncomfortable when you see someone else being embarrassed? What’s most likely to make you squirm?

Today’s daily prompt asks us to talk about our discomfort when someone else feels embarrassed, but I’m twisting it so that the focus is on my embarrassing moments. These three recollections don’t make me squirm; they bring smiles to my face.

Recollection 1: Many years ago, when I arrived in the United States, I was rather overwhelmed with the experience. Miami International Airport was pretty scary at the time!  I was glued to the floor  when I saw those moving stairs– I had never seen an escalator. Although I saw others stepping on it, I was afraid. I just stood there. I looked back and was most embarrassed to see several people behind me. The person directly behind me sensed what was going on and he gently suggested that I step on and he would stay close. 

Escalator

Escalator (Photo credit: Sean MacEntee)

Photo credit: google images

Photo credit: google images

Recollection 2: In my native country, we cleaned our mirrors and window panes with newspaper and water. So naturally, upon my arrival in the U.S., I did the same. I found out later that Windex exists! 

Recollection 3: Shortly after I got married, I lost my wedding band. I was visiting my sister-in-law and her family when I discovered that the ring was no longer on my finger. I was almost in tears as the search began. We looked everywhere in the house, but couldn’t find it. Imagine my embarrassment when my brother-in-law asked me to look on my right hand- the ring was safe and sound on the ring finger of my right hand.

Deutsch:

Deutsch: (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

These are three of my embarrassing moments that cause me to smile nowadays

18 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthy, maybe not!

  1. Yes, I’d been to some situations where I just want to run from embarrassment as well felt uneasy cause someone really got embrassed….which makes me really feel bad. We know it is a bad feeling to experience them. As for embarrassing moments, once I had the car leave school with my books on top on my car. Hmm? Lack of sleep I guess.

  2. Actually, Vinegar and newspaper beats Windex every time! Nothing like looking back on where we were, in order to clearly see how far we’ve come. You’ve come a long way baby!

  3. Somebody told me to use newspapers on my windows too – so I did. Afterwards as the sun slid across the sky and shone its rays onto my windows I realise I’d scratched them to bits! Must have got a bit carried away!! Once I fell over on an escalator – could have been nasty but instead it was just embarrassing 😉

  4. Getting off the escalator was always the scary bit I thought 😉
    Newspaper is still so good for getting a shine though. I think we use the sprays out of habit and because they’re easy to grab and get on with the job!
    I haven’t used the wordpress daily prompt before but after reading your post I think I might 🙂 Thanks, Elaine x

  5. Pingback: Ain’t That A Shame – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  6. Escalators make my armpits wet too! I go out of my way to find an elevator. It’s been years since I’ve gotten on an escalator. That’s a great story about the ring….sounds like something I would do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

