Home » Communication » Keep the Handwritten Letter Alive

Keep the Handwritten Letter Alive

When was the last time you received a handwritten note? When was the last time you wrote a note or letter in your own hand? The art of handwritten letters seems to be on the endangered list. Would it become extinct? I hope not. I have always enjoyed writing and receiving letters, but of recent I’ve been guilty of not sending out those little white envelopes.

Technology has made our lives easier and is keeping us connected yet, at the same time it seemed to have taken away some of the personal touch that we once enjoyed. Telephone conversations, texting, video messaging, social networks, to name a few, have become so intertwined in our lives that we have forgotten the joy of writing or receiving a handwritten note.

A letter from 1996

A letter from 1996

For me, the handwritten letter is a gift. It is a gift of time. It is also a tangible gift of words that I can reread and get those warm fuzzies all over again. I have a collection of letters and cards since I was a teenager and ever so often I go back to them and lose myself in someone else’s thoughts. I’ve got a bundle of love letters that bring a smile to my face each time I read them. I’m smiling now as I reflect upon the exhilaration and eager anticipation that accompanied each letter I received.

Letters & Cards

Letters & Cards

It is so easy to send a text message or an e-mail, but it is slightly more involved to actually put pen to paper. When someone writes me a letter, I know that that person dedicated time just for me. I was in his or her thoughts throughout the writing and let’s face it, don’t we all want to know that people are thinking of us?

At the beginning of March, I made a decision that I will write one handwritten note or letter per week for two months. Why just two months? It’s easier to set and reach a short goal. I am right on track- last week I sent a “just because” note to a colleague at work and two nights ago I wrote a letter to my friend in Canada. I encourage you to write a note to someone today or this week and be on the look-out for those warm fuzziesJ Let’s keep the art of handwritten letters alive.

19 thoughts on “Keep the Handwritten Letter Alive

  1. i love this and agree completely. just this weekend i was happily surprised by a handwritten letter from a journalist i met quite by accident while he was covering a story in my town over 20 years ago. he’s lived all over the world since then, and we’ve kept up our letter writing over all those years. it is wonderful – thanks for stopping by and reading my blog and following, i look forward to reading more of yours – best, beth

  2. This is a great idea. I studied history in college and I mourn over the fact that so many historical records, like letters, won’t be available for future generation. I’m lazy, I only send postcards every few months. I should get better about longer notes.

  3. Pingback: Dear Kristen | Journey On a Limb

  4. When i read, I love to write comments, i have always written on paper and then transfer my writings to the computer.That written letter is the most romantic message that can be delivered to one’s heart! I love your message…thanks for blessing me at my site! I shall follow you also! God bless!

  5. Wonderful! I did the same thing. Set up a short goal for myself. Wrote a letter every day for a month. An experiment before trying to write a letter every single day for a year. It was too much. I found there were days where I could pen a few letters and the next, have absolutely nothing to say.

    In the end, I decided to simply have a goal to handwrite 5000 letters, no deadline. It’s been wonderful so far. Haven’t reached the halfway point but this was intended to be a long-term project.

    How is your project coming along?

  6. What fun and I do agree with you. Would you care to exchange a note or letter with me?
    I like to write small illustrated letters having learnt how to from ziggyshortcrust.com.
    If you would like to I will email my address.

  7. Who would say that’s just your second post? You’re a very gifted writer too! I love your topic, just as much I love how you laid out your points and arguments. Very well written!

Leave a Reply

